UCD Students’ Union has confirmed details of the successful candidates for next year’s SU Executive positions. Four campaigns officers were elected to the positions of Women’s Officer, Environmental Officer, Irish Language Officer and Postgraduate Officer, while nine faculty-based Programme Officer positions were also filled. Almost all of the positions were contested, in contrast to last March’s sabbatical elections in which three candidates were unopposed.

Sarah Ní Mhuirí won a majority vote for the position of Irish Language Officer over Ruairí Ó Maoilmheana, while Regina Brady was successful in her campaign to become Women’s Officer. Next year’s Environmental Officer is to be Alan Pierce, who saw off three other candidates, and the position of Postgraduate Officer was won by Martin Lawless.

In the various Programme Officer elections, current LawSoc auditor Conor O’Hanlon was elected to Law and BBLS Programme Officer, Edel Ní Churraoin and James Doyle were chosen as Arts Programme Officers, Maggie O’Connor won the race to become Science Programme Officer, and current SU Irish Language Officer Aoife Nic Samhráin was elected Health Sciences Programme Officer.

In other faculties, Emma Fortune won the position of Business Programme Officer, Patrick Alvarez was elected Engineering & Architecture Programme Officer, and Cian O’Donnell was named Agricultural Science Programme Officer. The position of Veterinary Programme Officer was without a candidate.

Click here to see the original published article.